Municipality of the County of Inverness

District 1 Residents Elect New Councillor

March 5, 2022

District 1 Residents Elect New Councillor

INVERNESS COUNTY, UNAMA’KI – During the 2022 Special Election for District 1 Councillor, residents elected Claude P. Poirier as Councillor. The results are as follows:

Gaëtan François Boudreau – 101 votes

Claude P. Poirier – 737 votes

Joseph Christopher Poirier – 452 votes

Declined – 1

Spoiled –  2

A Special Election was called following the retirement of former Councillor Alfred Poirier. Voting was held online and over the phone in both official languages. There were 2173 eligible voters and 1293 votes cast for a rate of 59.5%.


Returning Officer:

Tanya Tibbo



Media contact:

Karolyn Aucoin



More News

Volunteer Recognition 2022: Gerard Aucoin

May 18, 2022

Congratulations, Gerard AuCoin! The Cheticamp Kinsmen Club is pleased and honoured to nominate Kinsman Gerard…

AVIS DE SCRUTIN: Élection spéciale du District 2

May 16, 2022

L'élection municipale spéciale du conseiller du district 2 aura lieu le samedi 4 juin 2022.…

NOTICE OF POLL: District 2 Special Election

May 16, 2022

The Special Municipal Election for District 2 Councillor will be held on Saturday, June 4th,…